The Television Critics Association Announces 2012 TCA Awards Winners

HBO’s “Game of Thrones” Named Program of the Year
Showtime’s “Homeland” Wins Outstanding New Program

“Downton Abbey,” “60 Minutes,” “So You Think You Can Dance,”
“Switched at Birth,” “Louie” and “Breaking Bad” are honored
along with favorites “Cheers” and David Letterman

BEVERLY HILLS, CA (Saturday, July 28, 2012) – The Television Critics Association (TCA) tonight recognized the top programs and actors of the 2011-2012 television season at its 28th Annual TCA Awards presentation. Bryan Cranston, star of AMC’s hit series “Breaking Bad,” hosted the annual invitation-only event, held at the Beverly Hilton hotel in conjunction with the TCA’s summer press tour. The non-televised ceremony bestowed awards in 12 categories to recipients in comedy, drama, reality, miniseries, news and youth programming.

Members of the TCA, a media organization of more than 200 professional TV critics and journalists from the United States and Canada, voted HBO’s celebrated “Game of Thrones” this season’s Program of the Year and honored Showtime’s freshman drama, “Homeland,” with the award for Outstanding New Program.

”The past year in television offered a wide variety of standout programming. Viewers were treated to shows that were fearless, thought-provoking and original, spanning far beyond the traditional conventions,” said TCA president Candace Havens. “Whether it was the hard-hitting drama of ‘Homeland,’ the elegance of ‘Downton Abbey,’ the brash honesty of ‘Louie’ or any of our other winners —truly, there was something for everyone. The TCA is proud to honor these outstanding programs with the help of the talented and award-winning Bryan Cranston.”

The FX sitcom “Louie” took home the award for Outstanding Achievement in Comedy, and its star, Louis C.K., nabbed the top trophy in the Individual Achievement in Comedy category.

AMC’s “Breaking Bad” once again received the award for Outstanding Achievement in Drama, having previously won the distinction in 2010, and “Homeland” star Claire Danes was honored with Individual Achievement in Drama for her portrayal of Carrie Mathison.

PBS Masterpiece’s “Downton Abbey” emerged victorious in the category of Outstanding Achievement in Movies, Miniseries and Specials, while Fox’s “So You Think You Can Dance” took home the award for Outstanding Achievement in Reality Programming.

Additionally, the TCA also recognized ABC Family’s “Switched at Birth” with an award for Outstanding Achievement in Youth Programming, and CBS News’ iconic “60 Minutes” received top honors for Outstanding Achievement in News & Information.

The TCA not only recognized the year’s finest programming, but it also bestowed a Heritage Award upon NBC’s classic sitcom “Cheers” (1982-93), for the cultural and social impact the program has had on society.

The non-profit organization also presented David Letterman (“The Late Show With David Letterman”) with a Career Achievement Award for his influence in late night television.

2012 TCA Award recipients are as follows:

  • Individual Achievement in Drama: Claire Danes (“Homeland,” Showtime)
  • Individual Achievement in Comedy: Louis C.K. (“Louie,” FX)
  • Outstanding Achievement in News and Information: “60 Minutes” (CBS)
  • Outstanding Achievement in Reality Programming: “So You Think You Can Dance” (Fox)
  • Outstanding Achievement in Youth Programming: “Switched at Birth” (ABC Family)
  • Outstanding New Program: “Homeland” (Showtime)
  • Outstanding Achievement in Movies, Miniseries and Specials: “Masterpiece: Downton Abbey” (PBS)
  • Outstanding Achievement in Drama: “Breaking Bad” (AMC)
  • Outstanding Achievement in Comedy: “Louie” (FX)
  • Career Achievement Award: David Letterman
  • Heritage Award: “Cheers”
  • Program of the Year: “Game of Thrones” (HBO)

Cindy Ronzoni
[email protected]

The Television Critics Association
 represents more than 200 journalists writing about television for print and online outlets in the United States and Canada. For 28 years the TCA has honored outstanding achievement in television and enduring contributions to the medium’s heritage through the TCA Awards. Membership in the Television Critics Association is open to full-time TV writers at newspapers, magazines, trade publications, news wire services, news syndicates, and text-based Internet news organizations. For additional information on the TCA, please visit The TCA is also represented on Facebook and Twitter. Follow the TCA on Twitter this Summer @TCAOfficial, using hashtag #TCAs12.

Share this post:

Comments on "The Television Critics Association Announces 2012 TCA Awards Winners"

Comments 0-5 of 0

Please login to comment