The Television Critics Association Announces 2010 TCA Awards Nominees

Critics Nominate Newcomers “Modern Family” and “Glee” as well as Perennial Favorites “Lost,” “Breaking Bad,” “Friday Night Lights” and “Mad Men” for Program of the Year

“Parenthood’s” Dax Shepard Named as Host of The 26th Annual TCA Awards, Saturday, July 31 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel

LOS ANGELES (June 4, 2010) – The Television Critics Association (TCA), a media organization comprised of more than 200 professional TV critics and journalists from the United States and Canada, today announced nominations for its 2010 TCA Awards. The 2010 TCA Awards recognizes outstanding television programming in the 2009-2010 season, honoring both actors and producers in a variety of categories including news and information, youth, drama and comedy achievements.

The winners of the 26th Annual TCA Awards will be announced at the invitation-only presentation, Saturday, July 31, 2010 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel, as part of the group’s bi-annual industry conference. “Parenthood’s” Dax Shepard serves as host for the non-televised event.

“The nominees reflect a strong year that brought innovative storytelling to viewers,” said TCA President Susan Young. “In the 26 years the Television Critics Association has been giving these awards, the more than 200 members reaching millions of readers have been able to spotlight the best television can offer. And we’re excited to have ‘Parenthood’s’ Dax Shepard as host of the awards.”

Shepard, who currently stars as Crosby Braverman on NBC’s “Parenthood” (which is nominated for a TCA Award), is one of the brightest stars in prime time today. From his early days starring in reality TV (MTV’s “Punk’d”), Shepard’s comedic wit and improvisational skills have helped propel his career with film projects such as “Zathura,” “Baby Mama,” “Idiocracy” and this season’s critically-acclaimed television drama series “Parenthood.” As host of the TCA Awards, Shepard, a Groundlings Theater alumni, will open the ceremonies by giving the attendees his take on the year’s past TV season with his signature comedic style and flair.

In addition to recognizing the year’s finest programming, the TCA Awards bestows a Heritage Award trophy to one long-standing program that has culturally or socially impacted society. This year, the TCA members have nominated Fox’s “24,” ABC’s “Lost,” NBC’s “Law & Order,” ABC’s “Twin Peaks” and CBS’ “M*A*S*H” for consideration in this prestigious category.

The organization also presents a Career Achievement Award to an individual who has influenced television through his work on the small screen. Nominees include actor James Garner (“The Rockford Files”), reporter/producer Bill Moyers (“Bill Moyers’ Journal”), executive producer Sherwood Schwartz (“The Brady Bunch”), actor William Shatner (“Star Trek”) and executive producer Dick Wolf (“Law & Order” franchise).

Below is the complete list of the 2010 Television Critics Association nominees.

Individual Achievement in Drama
1. Bryan Cranston (“Breaking Bad,” AMC)
2. John Lithgow (“Dexter,” Showtime)
3. Julianna Margulies (“The Good Wife,” CBS)
4. Aaron Paul (“Breaking Bad”, AMC)
5. Katey Sagal (“Sons of Anarchy,” FX)

Individual Achievement in Comedy
1. Ty Burrell (“Modern Family,” ABC)
2. Jane Lynch (“Glee,” Fox)
3. Nick Offerman (“Parks and Recreation,” NBC)
4. Jim Parsons (“The Big Bang Theory,” CBS)
5. Eric Stonestreet (“Modern Family,” ABC)

Outstanding Achievement in News and Information
1. “30 for 30” (ESPN)
2. “America: The Story of Us” (History Channel)
3. “Life” (Discovery Channel)
4. “The Daily Show” (Comedy Central)
5. “The Rachel Maddow Show” (MSNBC)

Outstanding Achievement in Youth Programming
1. “Dinosaur Train” (PBS)
2. “iCarly” (Nickelodeon)
3. “Star Wars: The Clone Wars” (Cartoon Network)
4. “Word Girl” (PBS)
5. “Yo Gabba Gabba” (Nick Jr.)

Outstanding New Program
1. “Glee” (Fox)
2. “Justified” (FX)
3. “Modern Family” (ABC)
4. “Parenthood” (NBC)
5. “The Good Wife” (CBS)

Outstanding Achievement in Movies, Miniseries and Specials
1. “Life” (Discovery Channel)
2. “Temple Grandin” (HBO)
3. “The Pacific” (HBO)
4. “Torchwood: Children of Earth” (BBC America)
5. “You Don’t Know Jack” (HBO)

Outstanding Achievement in Drama
1. “Breaking Bad” (AMC)
2. “Lost” (ABC)
3. “Mad Men” (AMC)
4. “Sons of Anarchy” (FX)
5. “The Good Wife” (CBS)

Outstanding Achievement in Comedy
1. “Glee” (Fox)
2. “Modern Family” (ABC)
3. “Parks and Recreation” (NBC)
4. “Party Down” (Starz)
5. “The Big Bang Theory” (CBS)

Career Achievement Award
1. James Garner
2. Bill Moyers
3. Sherwood Schwartz
4. William Shatner
5. Dick Wolf

Heritage Award
1. “24”
2. “M*A*S*H”
3. “Law & Order”
4. “Lost”
5. “Twin Peaks”

Program of the Year
1. “Breaking Bad” (AMC)
2. “Friday Night Lights” (DirecTV/NBC)
3. “Glee” (Fox)
4. “Lost” (ABC)
5. “Modern Family” (ABC)


The Television Critics Association represents more than 200 journalists writing about television for print and online outlets in the United States and Canada. For 26 years the TCA has honored outstanding achievement in television and enduring contributions to the medium’s heritage through the TCA Awards. Membership in the Television Critics Association is open to full-time TV writers at newspapers, magazines, trade publications, news wire services, news syndicates, and text-based Internet news organizations. For additional information on the TCA, please visit

Share this post:

Comments on "The Television Critics Association Announces 2010 TCA Awards Nominees"

Comments 0-5 of 0

Please login to comment