‘Breaking Bad’s’ Bryan Cranston Hosts The 2012 Television Critics Association Awards

Emmy Award-Winning Actor Shows Off His Comedic Side Hosting His First Awards Show on Saturday, July 28 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel

LOS ANGELES (June 14, 2012) – Three-time Emmy Award-winning actor Bryan Cranston (“Breaking Bad”) will host the 28th Annual Television Critics Association (“TCA”) Awards on Saturday, July 28, 2012 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel, announced Candace Havens, TCA President.

As host of the TCA Awards, Cranston will open the invitation-only show with a monologue, then segue into the awards presentation that recognizes the best television programming of the 2011-2012 season. The TCA Awards honors both actors and producers in a variety of categories including news and information, youth, drama, reality and comedy achievements.

Cranston, critically acclaimed for his role as Walter White in the AMC series “Breaking Bad,” is also a TCA Award nominee in the Individual Achievement in Drama category; an honor he won in 2009 for his work on the same AMC series. Joining Cranston are Claire Danes (Showtime’s “Homeland”), Peter Dinklage (HBO’s “Game of Thrones”), Jon Hamm (AMC’s “Mad Men”) and Jessica Lange (FX’s “American Horror Story”) as nominees in this category.

“Bryan is the perfect host for the TCA’s annual awards show,” said Havens. “As professional television journalists we’ve recognized his performances through the years as both a comedic and dramatic star. In fact, we honored his work in 2009 with a TCA Award for his role on ‘Breaking Bad.’ But, as TV fans we’ve laughed along with some of his hilarious characters like Hal in ‘Malcolm in the Middle’ and Dr. Tim Whatley on ‘Seinfeld.’ We’re all thrilled that he will headline our awards this year.”

Cranston joins other luminaries such as Conan O’Brien, Drew Carey, Craig Ferguson, Wanda Sykes, The Smothers Brothers, Nick Offerman, Dax Shepard and Bob Newhart who have previously hosted.

Nominations for The 28th TCA Awards were announced last week. The TCA nominates and votes on awards as an organization and the process is not open to solicitation or submissions. In all, 12 awards will be bestowed for programming that has made an impact this past TV season. The TCA also bestows a Heritage Award trophy to one long-standing program that has culturally or socially influenced society and a Career Achievement Award to an individual who has inspired his/her work in television.

Cindy Ronzoni, TCA
[email protected]

Rachael Wesolowski, Independent Public Relations
[email protected]



The Television Critics Association represents more than 200 journalists writing about television for print and online outlets in the United States and Canada. For 28 years the TCA has honored outstanding achievement in television and enduring contributions to the medium’s heritage through the TCA Awards.  Membership in the Television Critics Association is open to full-time TV writers at newspapers, magazines, trade publications, news wire services, news syndicates, and text-based Internet news organizations. For additional information on the TCA, please visit www.tvcritics.org. The TCA is also represented on Facebook and Twitter. To follow the Summer TCA on twitter, tweets are represented with the hashtag #TCAs12.

Share this post:

Comments on "‘Breaking Bad’s’ Bryan Cranston Hosts The 2012 Television Critics Association Awards"

Comments 0-5 of 0

Please login to comment