The Television Critics Association Announces 2015 TCA Awards Winners

Fox’s Freshman Smash “Empire” Takes Program of the Year, While AMC’s “Breaking Bad” Spinoff “Better Call Saul” Wins Outstanding New Program

Acclaimed Series “Mad Men,” “Inside Amy Schumer,” “The Americans,” “Last Week Tonight with John Oliver” and “The Chair” are Honored, Along with Icons “Late Show/Late Night with David Letterman” and Film & Television Legend James L. Brooks

“The Late Late Show” Host and ‘Into The Woods’ Star James Corden Served as Emcee of the 31st Annual Awards Show, Held at the Beverly Hills Hilton Hotel

LOS ANGELES –Saturday, August 8, 2015 – The Television Critics Association (TCA) honored the top programs and actors of the 2014-2015 television season tonight, at the 31st Annual TCA Awards presentation. The prestigious organization’s untelevised event was held at the Beverly Hills Hilton hotel, and hosted by James Corden, award-winning actor, writer, comedian, and star of “The Late Late Show” and the big screen adaptation of “Into The Woods.”

The results were determined from votes cast by the TCA’s membership, comprised of more than 220 professional TV critics and journalists from the United States and Canada. The winners represented an eclectic blend of shows and stars in 12 categories, putting the spotlight on the absolute best in comedy, drama, reality, miniseries, news, and youth programming. Highlights included Fox’s celebrated hip-hop drama “Empire” winning Program of the Year in its first season, and AMC’s hit “Breaking Bad” spinoff “Better Call Saul” earning the award for Outstanding New Program.

Comedy Central’s “Inside Amy Schumer” was a big winner this year, taking home honors for Outstanding Achievement in Comedy, while its star, Amy Schumer, nabbed Individual Achievement in Comedy going up against last year’s winner, “Veep” star Julia Louis-Dreyfus. Fan-favorite Jon Hamm gave AMC its second win of the night, walking away with his second Individual Achievement in Drama award for his portrayal of polarizing advertising executive Don Draper on the acclaimed period drama “Mad Men.” HBO was the third network to score two wins, with first-year news show “Last Week Tonight with John Oliver” earning the award for Outstanding Achievement in News and Information, followed by the riveting crime documentary “The Jinx: The Life and Deaths of Robert Durst” which won the award for Outstanding Achievement in Movies, Miniseries and Specials.

Additionally, Starz’ filmmaking competition series “The Chair” received the award for Outstanding Achievement in Reality Programming; ABC Family’s “The Fosters” earned Outstanding Achievement in Youth Programming for the second consecutive year; and FX’s spy thriller “The Americans” won Outstanding Achievement in Drama.

The TCA also bestowed a special Heritage Award upon the legendary late-night staple “Late Show/Late Night with David Letterman”—which wrapped up its final season in May after 33 years on air—for the cultural and social impact it has had; and presented Oscar® and Emmy®-winning writer, producer and director James L. Brooks (“The Simpsons,” “Taxi,” “Mary Tyler Moore”) with a Career Achievement Award for his legendary role in creating some of the most groundbreaking and influential television programs over the course of five decades.

“This was truly a monumental year for television,” said Scott D. Pierce, TCA President and TV critic for The Salt Lake Tribune. “We said goodbye to some old favorites, with the final seasons of ‘Mad Men’ and ‘Late Show with David Letterman,’ and we were treated to strong new additions like Fox’s ‘Empire’ and HBO’s ‘Last Week Tonight with John Oliver.’ There were a lot of difficult choices to be made, but there’s no doubt that the nominees and winners all deserve their accolades. I’m excited to see what the next year of television has in store.”

Photographs from the TCA Awards are available at

2015 TCA Award recipients are as follows:

  • Individual Achievement in Drama: Jon Hamm (“Mad Men,” AMC)
  • Individual Achievement in Comedy: Amy Schumer (“Inside Amy Schumer,” Comedy Central)
  • Outstanding Achievement in News and Information: “Last Week Tonight with John Oliver” (HBO)
  • Outstanding Achievement in Reality Programming: “The Chair” (Starz)
  • Outstanding Achievement in Youth Programming: “The Fosters” (ABC Family) – second consecutive year
  • Outstanding New Program: “Better Call Saul” (AMC)
  • Outstanding Achievement in Movies, Miniseries and Specials: “The Jinx: The Life and Deaths of Robert Durst” (HBO)
  • Outstanding Achievement in Drama: “The Americans” (FX)
  • Outstanding Achievement in Comedy: “Inside Amy Schumer” (Comedy Central)
  • Career Achievement Award: James L. Brooks
  • Heritage Award: “Late Show/Late Night with David Letterman” (CBS/NBC)
  • Program of the Year: “Empire” (Fox)

The Television Critics Association (TCA) represents more than 200 professional journalists who cover television for publications across the United States and Canada. The members reach tens of millions of consumers each week, and are considered experts within the industry, representing their employers as moderators, panelists, radio/TV guests and more. The prestigious organization honors outstanding achievements in television and enduring contributions to the medium’s heritage through the TCA Awards each year. This year’s TCA Awards are the organization’s 31st anniversary. For additional information about the TCA, visit; Facebook; and Twitter. To follow the Summer TCA on twitter, follow tweets with the hashtag #TCA15.

Media Contact:
Cindy Ronzoni / Social Spread Media / 310-880-1961 / [email protected] / @cindyronzoni

Share this post:

Comments on "The Television Critics Association Announces 2015 TCA Awards Winners"

Comments 0-5 of 0

Please login to comment